Topics
Archive
For media inquiries, please visit the Contact page.

Four Mounds Inn and Conference Center

upl_four-mounds-innLocated on a bluff overlooking the grand Mississippi River, Four Mounds is regarded as the only remaining gentleman’s farm in Iowa. Established in 1908 by the Burden family, the property was utilized as a gentleman’s farm, where friends and family could commune with nature while still commuting to work in Dubuque on a daily basis.
Bequeathed to the City of Dubuque in 1982, the property is now managed by the nonprofit Four Mounds Foundation and open to the public. To help fund preservation of the estate, the foundation manages an Inn and Conference Center at the location. Visitors may stay in any of four buildings on the property, with the Grey House operating as a bed & breakfast. A challenge ropes course is also operated on the estate and available for rental.
Day travelers to the estate can walk throughout the farmstead or hike the wooded trails. To help visitors connect to the farms rich heritage, new interpretive signs were recently installed, funded in part by a grant from SSNHA. Each sign provides a glimpse into operation of the farm during the early 1900’s.
Throughout the year Four Mounds hosts a number of events, including Blues Fest, an Antique Appraisals & Art Fair and the upcoming Christmas Tea. Four Mounds also supports a number of educational programs, including the HEART (Housing Education and Rehabilitation Training) program which provides youth with vocational training by revitalizing blighted buildings in Dubuque.
Located at 4900 Peru Rd, Dubuque, the grounds are open to the public from sunrise to sunset, conference center and inn by appointment. For more info, visit www.fourmounds.org or call 563-557-7292.

Topics: Spotlight Site

Related Attractions: