Recent Comments
    For media inquiries, please visit the Contact page.

    SSNHA Bus Grant Assists 27 Northeast Iowa Schools During First Year

    Northeast Iowa –Silos & Smokestacks National Heritage Area (SSNHA) Bus Grant
    Program proves popular among area schools during its first year. Within one month of
    the opening of the 2007-2008 grant funding cycle, set to close on May 1, 2008, all of the
    $7,500 designated to this year’s program has been allocated.

    The Bus Grant, which is part of the SSNHA Education Scholarship Fund, is helping
    27 schools to cover the costs of field study trips to 16 different SSNHA sites within the
    region. Through the program, 1,619 students will have access to these enriched
    learning environments within the Heritage Area.

    The SSNHA Bus Grant Program, which helps cover transportation costs of field
    study trips to SSNHA sites, awards a maximum of $350 per school building. Grants are
    awarded on a first-received, first-funded basis to accredited Pre K -12 public, private or
    charter schools located in the Heritage Area. Silos & Smokestacks is currently working
    to raise funds for the 2008-2009 Bus Grant Program.
    “With the growing competition for special program funding in the education system,
    we are proud to offer the opportunity for students to experience hands-on learning at the
    many unique sites in the Heritage Area,” commented Executive Director, Don Short.
    “The SSNHA Bus Grant has proven to be a popular grant program, as shown by the
    immediate number of applications that were received. Future fundraising efforts will be
    critical as the popularity of the program increases.”

    Schools receiving funding include: Fredricksburg Elementary School, Fredricksburg;
    Oelwein Middle School, Oelwein; Centennial Elementary School, Altoona; Fulton
    Elementary School, Dubuque; Trinity Catholic School, Protivin; Meskwaki Settlement
    School, Tama; Northeast Hamilton School, Blairsburg; JFK Elementary School,
    Dubuque; Rolling Green Elementary School, Urbandale; St. Joseph Community School,
    New Hampton; Riceville Community School, Riceville; Shell Rock Elementary School,
    Shell Rock; Cedar Heights Elementary School, Cedar Falls; North Cedar Elementary
    School, Cedar Falls; Hansen Elementary School, Cedar Falls; Alden Elementary
    School, Alden; Lincoln Elementary School, Cedar Falls; Orchard Hill Elementary
    School, Cedar Falls; Blessed Sacrament Elementary School, Waterloo; St. Edward
    Elementary School, Waterloo; Sacred Heart Elementary School, Waterloo; West Cedar
    Elementary School, Waverly; Nixon Elementary School, Hiawatha; Lynnville-Sully
    Elementary School, Sully; Nashua-Plainfield School, Nashua; Taylor Elementary
    School, Cedar Rapids; and Anamosa High School, Anamosa.

    Silos & Smokestacks National Heritage Area is one of 37 federally designated
    heritage areas in the nation and is an Affiliated Area of the National Park Service. The
    Heritage Area covers 37 counties in the northeast quadrant of Iowa. Interstate 80
    borders it on the south and Interstate 35 borders it on the west. Through a network of
    sites, programs and events, SSNHA interprets farm life, agribusiness and rural
    communities – past and present. To learn more about Silos & Smokestacks National
    Heritage Area, please visit

    Topics: Press Releases