Recent Comments
    For media inquiries, please visit the Contact page.

    Vote for Your Favorite Heritage Area Site

    Northeast Iowa – Each year, SSNHA celebrates the best in heritage development by
    presenting Golden Silo Awards to individuals and organizations whose contributions
    demonstrate outstanding excellence in preserving and telling stories of American agriculture.
    For the second year in a row, SSNHA will let the public chose who they think should be
    named Site of the Year.

    Voting will be open online at from March 8-14, with the winner
    announced during the annual Golden Silo Awards ceremony on April 7 in Waterloo. This
    year’s “People’s Choice” Site of the Year nominees are:

    Cedar Valley Arboretum, Waterloo

    Heartland Acres Agribition Center, Independence

    Jenison, Meacham Memorial Art Museum & Farm, Belmond

    Grout Museum/Sullivan Brothers Iowa Veterans Museum, Waterloo

    UNI Museums, Cedar Falls

    Wapsipinicon Mill Museum, Independence

    Waterloo Center for the Arts, Waterloo

    Silos & Smokestacks National Heritage Area is one of 49 federally designated heritage areas
    in the nation and is an Affiliated Area of the National Park Service. The Heritage Area covers
    37 counties in the northeast quadrant of Iowa. Interstate 80 borders it on the south and
    Interstate 35 borders it on the west. Through a network of sites, programs and events,
    SSNHA interprets farm life, agribusiness and rural communities – past and present.

    Topics: Press Releases