Recent Comments
    For media inquiries, please visit the Contact page.

    2010 Golden Silo Awards Honor Northeast Iowa Cultural Organizations

    Northeast Iowa – Silos & Smokestacks National Heritage Area (SSNHA) honored the best in
    heritage development during their annual Golden Silo Awards Luncheon, Wednesday, April 7,
    2010. Regional partners gathered to honor award recipients at the Sky Event Center in

    Golden Silo Awards are presented to individuals and organizations whose contributions
    demonstrate outstanding excellence in preserving and telling the stories of American agriculture.
    The following individuals and organizations were recognized:

    Seed Savers Exchange, Decorah
    Alan Hutchings Outstanding Visionary
    Honors an individual, organization, business, agency or local government who has shown
    sustained support for the Heritage Area for more than five years, created a legacy in
    heritage development and provided leadership in the heritage development movement.

    Richardson-Jakway Historic Site, Buchanan County Conservation, Aurora
    Outstanding Preservation in Agriculture
    Honors an individual, organization, project, business, agency or local government who
    has made an extraordinary effort in preserving the icons to the story of American

    African American Museum of Iowa, Cedar Rapids
    Outstanding Partner
    Honors an organization, institution or individual who has shown support and partnered
    with SSNHA on numerous occasions to create awareness for the Heritage Area.

    Cascade Community Enhancement Corporation, Cascade
    Outstanding Volunteer
    Honors an individual or organization who has given tirelessly to SSNHA.

    Wapsipinicon Mill Museum, Independence
    “People’s Choice” – Site of the Year
    Honors a SSNHA Partner Site who has been voted for by the public to be their favorite
    site of the year. Finalists included Cedar Valley Arboretum & Botanic Gardens, Waterloo;
    and Jenison-Meacham Memorial Art Center and Farm, Belmond.

    Providing the keynote for the event was Mary Swander, Poet Laureate for the State of Iowa.
    Swander performed a vignette from her play Farmscape, a docudrama capturing the changing
    rural environment.

    “This year’s Golden Silo Award recipients demonstrate the commitment and work ethic that has
    made Iowa the center of American agriculture, feeding both the United States and the world,”
    commented Don Short, SSNHA President.

    SSNHA is one of 49 federally designated heritage areas in the nation and is an Affiliated Area of
    the National Park Service. The Heritage Area covers 37 counties in the northeast quadrant of
    Iowa. Interstate 80 borders it on the south and Interstate 35 borders it on the west. Through a
    network of sites, programs and events, SSNHA interprets farm life, agribusiness and rural
    communities – past and present. To learn more about Silos & Smokestacks National Heritage
    Area, please visit

    Topics: Press Releases

    Related Attractions: