Recent Comments
    For media inquiries, please visit the Contact page.

    Silos & Smokestacks Awards $10,200 in Bus Grants to Iowa Schools

    Northeast Iowa – Silos & Smokestacks National Heritage Area (SSNHA) has awarded
    $10,200 in bus grants to 36 Northeast Iowa Community Schools for the 2010-2011
    school year. As a result of this granting program, over 2,400 Iowa students will have the
    opportunity to learn about their agricultural heritage thru hands-on visits to various
    farms, parks, museums and historic sites.

    The bus grants, which help cover the transportation costs of field trips to designated
    SSNHA Partner Sites, are awarded on a first-received, first-funded basis to accredited
    Pre K-12 public, private or charter schools located in the Heritage Area.

    “Over the course of the last four years Silos & Smokestacks National Heritage Area has
    distributed $40,000 to area schools. These funds have become vital in getting students
    out of the classroom and into our farm fields and museums,” commented SSNHA
    President, Don Short.

    Schools receiving grants include: Bellevue Elementary, Bellevue; Marquette Catholic
    Schools, Bellevue; Northeast Hamilton, Blairsburg; Taylor Elementary, Cedar Rapids;
    Viola Elementary, Cedar Rapids; Eisenhower Elementary, Davenport; Decorah Middle
    School, Decorah; Bryant Elementary, Dubuque; Table Mound Elementary, Dubuque;
    Prescott Community Schools, Dubuque; Eleanor Roosevelt Middle School, Dubuque;
    Poyner Elementary, Evansdale; Janesville Elementary, Janesville; Summit Middle
    School, Johnston; West Delaware County Community Schools, Manchester; Cardinal
    Elementary, Maquoketa; North Iowa Christian School, Mason City; Nashua-Plainfield
    Elementary, Nashua; Benton Community Schools, Norway; Ogden Middle School,
    Ogden; Nashua-Plainfield Community Schools, Plainfield; Preston Elementary, Preston
    Trinity Catholic School, Protivin; Olmsted Elementary, Urbandale; Rolling Green
    Elementary, Urbandale; Jensen Elementary, Urbandale; Dr. Walter Cunningham School
    for Excellence, Waterloo; Immanuel Lutheran School, Waterloo; Kingsley Elementary,
    Waterloo; Lowell Elementary, Waterloo; Orange Elementary, Waterloo; Kittre
    Elementary, Waterloo; Waterville Elementary, Waterville; East Elementary School,
    Waukon; West Cedar Elementary, Waverly; and St. Paul’s Lutheran School, Waverly.

    SSNHA is currently working to raise funds for the 2011-2012 school year. To donate to
    the SSNHA Education Scholarship Fund, visit and click
    on “Giving” along the bottom bar.

    Silos & Smokestacks National Heritage Area is one of 49 federally designated heritage
    areas in the nation and is an Affiliated Area of the National Park Service. The Heritage
    Area covers 37 counties in the northeast quadrant of Iowa. Interstate 80 borders it on
    the south and Interstate 35 borders it on the west. Through a network of sites, programs
    and events, SSNHA interprets farm life, agribusiness and rural communities – past and

    Topics: Press Releases